Contemporary UK Development Aid Conference

Contemporary UK Development Aid Conference

Contemporary UK Development Aid Conference Programme

 9.30-10am       Registration, Social Sciences Building, Rm, 14.33.

10-11am          Panel One – Framing the Aid Debate

Discussion with Dr Jennifer van Heerde-Hudson (UCL), Dr David Hudson (UCL), Dr Jonathan Fisher (Birmingham) and Dr Julia Galllagher (Royal Holloway).

11-12.30          Panel Two – The Political Parties and Development Aid

‘The United Kingdom and the 0.7 percent International Aid Target: Factors influencing attitudes amongst Conservative Parliamentarians’. Dr Tim Heppell (Leeds)

‘More than “brand-detoxification”? The Conservative Party and International development’. Dr Danielle Beswick (Birmingham)

‘Labour, International Development and Africa: transformation, politics or welfare?’ Dr William Brown (Open)

12.30-1.30       Lunch

1.30-3pm        Panel Two – UK development Aid Issues

‘Is 0.7% Enough? The UK’s Aid Programme.’ Dr Victoria Honeyman (Leeds)

                       ‘UK Development Aid in Times of Austerity’. Dr Teresa Almeida Cravo (Coimbra)

‘”Charity begins at home?” A review of public opinion in Britain towards foreign aid spending.’ Dr Ben Clements (Leicester)

‘Exploring Brexit and the UK-ACP Aid Relationship.’ Dr Sophia Price (Leeds Beckett)

3-3.30pm        Refreshments

3.30-5pm        Panel Three –The Impact of Aid

                       ‘Building Stability Overseas: A strategy without a policy?’ Andrew Johnstone (Bath)

‘Development Aid between austerity Measures and securitisation: Comparing German and British Overseas Development Assistance Budgets.’ Prof. Dr. Alexander Brand (Rhine-Waal)

‘The Balance of Power: Local NGO’s – UK Based International Organisations.’ Denisa Meirosu (Bucharest)

‘Risk and Uncertainty in democracy aid: Learning from UK Experience.’ Dr Susan Dodsworth (Birmingham) and Prof. Nic Cheeseman (Birmingham)

5.30 – 7pm      Politician and Practioners Panel

Stephen Twigg (Lab) Chair of the International Development Committee; Pauline Latham (Cons), Member of the International Development Committee; Tom Cargill, British Foreign Policy Group; Dr Alex Vine OBE, Chatham House

7pm                 Conference Closes