The Community of Restorative Researchers welcomes new members to its International Advisory Board

Now entering its third year of operation, CoRR aims to contribute towards maximising the benefits and minimising the risks of the growing use of restorative justice and restorative practices.

It does this by facilitating an open and critical dialogue within the field, and by acting as a hub through which information can be shared, and communication and collaboration can be enhanced, between researchers and others involved in the field in different contexts and capacities.

In the summer of 2015, CoRR recruited members for its first International Advisory Board (IAB) in order to help achieve these aims. IAB members served a one-year term, which ended on 31/07/2016.

Ian D. Marder, founder of CoRR and final year Ph.D. student at the University of Leeds’ School of Law, said:

“In the last couple of months, I have been recruiting further persons to serve on CoRR’s second IAB. Like last year, the quality of applications was incredible, and I am delighted to announce that, in keeping with tradition, every single applicant has been accepted on to the IAB (including many who kindly agreed to serve for a second term).

This means that our board now comprises 37 individuals representing almost 20 countries. They include academic and independent researchers, students, project managers, policymakers, practitioner and activists. They will serve on CoRR’s IAB for two years, from 01/08/2016 to 31/07/2018.”

New board members include:

  • Dr. Don John Omale, Federal University Wukari
  • Dr. Esther Friedman, Linnaeus University
  • Yutaka Osakabe, Aberdeen University
  • Margot Van Sluytman, Sawbonna Project for Living Justice
  • Vicenç Rul-lan, University of the Balearic Islands
  • Terri Kalaski, Independent Consultant
  • Ali Gohar, Justice Peace Initiatives
  • Grace Loseby, Brighton and Hove City Council
  • Dr. Heather Norris, Aberystwyth University
  • Haley Farrar, Victoria University of Wellington
  • Branka Peuraca, University of Zagreb
  • Dominic Barter, Restorative Circles
  • Demetra Sakelli, RISE Correctional Counselling and Prevention
  • Mary Clarke Boyd, Institute of Technology Sligo
  • Tania Nascimento, Community of Restorative Researchers
  • Jon Collins, Restorative Justice Council
  • Monique Anderson, KU Leuven
  • Dr. Federico Reggio, University of Padua
  • Michael O’Connell, Government of South Australia
  • Dr. Nadia Wager, Willow Consultancy and Training
  • Nicola Preston, International Institute for Restorative Practices
  • Marius Whelan, Mediation Dynamix
  • Susan Phillips, Southampton Solent University
  • Christina De Angelis, Mediators Beyond Borders
  • Detective Chief Inspector Dominic Human, Cambridgeshire Constabulary
  • Nick Powell, University of Waikato
  • Jenny Wessels, University of Hull
  • Niamh O’Carroll, Trinity College Dublin
  • Dr. Anamaria Szabo, De Montfort University
  • Dr. Brian Payne, University of Gloucestershire
  • Dr. Belinda Hopkins, Transforming Conflict
  • Dr. Razwana Begum, Probation and Community Rehabilitation Service of Singapore
  • Pamela Cytrynbaum, Chicago Innocence Center
  • Rose Gordon, Taos County Juvenile Justice Board
  • Margit Guenther, Community of Restorative Researchers
  • Marcus Wilson, Antioch University
  • Claire DeWind, Washington University


CoRR continues to recruit volunteers to assist with or lead on activities and operates an open call for participation through its social media channels. Interested parties can also join discussion groups on Facebook and LinkedIn, or contact Ian D. Marder on for more information.


Like us on Facebook

Join the discussion in our Facebook group

Join the LinkedIn discussion group

Listen to the new podcast series on SoundCloud

Follow us on Twitter

Restorative Forum